Print Friendly


Register now using the form below the program summary,
or at


2017 Program Summary
As of January, 2017. Guests subject to change.

The 2017 National Voices of Medicare and Senator Jay Rockefeller Lecture will be held at the kaiser Family Foundation Building in Washington, DC on March 30, 2017. We are excited to announce that Senator Sherrod Brown will give this year’s Senator Jay Rockefeller Lecture and Senator Rockefeller will be present to introduce him and join in a Q&A session after the Lecture. The Summit will also feature personal stories from beneficiaries and families interspersed throughout a day filled with valuable information, insights, and best practices from the following experts and national leaders:

What's Next for the Affordable Care Act, Medicare & Medicaid
Sponsored by Alzheimer’s Association

Moderator: Judith Stein, Founder/Executive Director, Center for Medicare Advocacy
Robert Berenson, Fellow, Urban Institute
Sean Cavanaugh, Deputy Administrator and Medicare Director, CMS
Cathy Hurwit, Chief of Staff, Rep. Jan Schakowsky (D-IL)
Chris Jennings, Principal, Jennings Policy Strategies (Invited)
Bruce Vladeck, , Senior Advisor Nexera, Former Health Care Finance Administration Administrator (HCFA, now CMS) 

Trends in Living with Advanced Illness
Sponsored by Compassion & Choices

Moderator: Brian Lindberg, Coordinator, Campaign to End Unwanted Medical Treatment
Amy Berman, Senior Program Officer, The John A. Hartford Foundation
Kim Callinan, Chief Program Officer, Compassion & Choices
Leslie Frane, SEIU National Healthcare Director
Charles Sabatino, Director, ABA Commission on Law and Aging

Senator Jay Rockefeller Lecture

Presented by Senator Sherrod Brown (D-OH)

Networking Lunch
Sponsored by SEIU

Elder Justice
Sponsored by AARP

Moderator:  Kathy Holt, Associate Director, Center for Medicare Advocacy
Toby S. Edelman, Senior Policy Attorney, Center for Medicare Advocacy
Terry Fulmer, President, The John A. Hartford Foundation       
Sarah Lock, Senior Vice President for Policy, AARP

Alfred J. Chiplin, Jr, Social Justice & Advocacy Award

Presented to Ben Belton, Senior Advisor to the Acting Commissioner, Social Security Administration, Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs

Advocacy Panel: Jimmo/Improvement Standard, Future of Medicare, ACA, Medicaid, Observation Status, and Coverage for Oral Health and Audiology Care
Sponsored by The Santa Fe Group

Moderator: David Lipschutz, Managing Attorney, Center for Medicare Advocacy
Michael Alfano, President, Santa Fe Group, and Professor, Dean and Executive Vice President Emeritus, New York University
Joe Baker, President, Medicare Rights
Alice Bers, Litigation Director, Center for Medicare Advocacy
Vicki Gottlich, Director, Center for Policy and Evaluation, Administration on Community Living
Judith Stein, Founder/Executive Director, Center for Medicare Advocacy
Max Richtman, President and CEO of the National Committee to Preserve Social Security and Medicare